Book Review

Book Review: A Royal Christmas Fairy Tale by Karen Schaler

Thank you to Karen Schaler and TLC Book Tours for the gifted copy.
Title: A Royal Christmas Fairy Tale
Author(s): Karen Schaler
Release Date: October 5, 2021
Publisher: HawkTale Publishing
Genre(s): Christmas, Romance, Contemporary
Synopsis:

From “A holiday publishing darling” (Entertainment Weekly) and Emmy Award-winning writer of Netflix’s hit rom-com A Christmas Prince comes this heartwarming, feel-good Christmas romance about the power of believing in yourself to find your happily ever after…

A charming Christmas village, a storybook castle, a royal ball, and a gorgeous prince are the last things New York City reporter Kaylie Karlyle expects to find on her holiday freelance assignment to Europe. But when the family she’s interviewing turns out to be the royal family of Tolvania, Kaylie has a meltdown when the quirky queen wants her to write a Christmas fairy tale for the spunky, young princess. Kaylie must battle the princess’s father, who doesn’t trust the media, and her own insecurities about writing anything beyond the news.

To spark inspiration for the fairy tale, the queen recruits the prickly Prince Alexander to show Kaylie the family’s most spectacular royal holiday traditions. And sparks definitely fly when the only thing Kaylie and the prince agree on is that they’re both more “bah humbug” than “ho, ho, ho.”

But somewhere between sleigh rides and snow angels, merrymaking and mistletoe, upside-down Christmas trees, and a legendary Christmas crown, Kaylie and the prince open their hearts to Christmas and start believing in themselves and each other. It’s a real-life fairy tale in the making until Kaylie discovers a secret about a royal Christmas heirloom that jeopardizes everyone’s happily ever after. Can the magic of the season save this holiday happy ending?

Bonus Content: Includes delicious royal Christmas recipes and holiday activities.

A Royal Christmas Fairy Tale is an uplifting, inspiring Christmas romance that’s filled with heart and hope and will appeal to fans of Debbie Macomber, Susan Mallery, and RaeAnne Thayne.

My Review:

A Royal Christmas Fairy Tale is a beautiful book that will remind you about the magic of Christmas. Karen Schaler writes the perfect Christmas read that will leave fans feeling happy and hopeful.

Kaylie is an investigative reporter in New York City. She is dedicated to working and has always put her job first. Just as she is on the brink of a big promotion, she receives news that she is actually going to be let go because of the loss of funding. Well, there goes her dreams. She isn’t big on celebrating Christmas so that won’t be a problem, but she feels at a loss because everything in her work plan is starting to crumble. Things start to look up when her friend finds her a job. The only downside is that she doesn’t know what it entails.

After boarding a private jet, Kaylie knows this job is most likely dealing with a prominent figure. She is ready to see what Tolvania has to offer when she lands in the lap of a handsome man. Too bad he is rude because that is a deal-breaker. Hopefully, she can brush this off, focus on her job, and get ready to meet the person who hired her.

Kaylie is dumbfounded when she arrives in front of a castle. She thinks this is pretty grand to do an interview but she will just go along with it. To her surprise, she is brought to Tolvania by the queen herself. Queen Isabella wants Kaylie to write a fairy tale for her granddaughter, Princess Anna. This is something Kaylie has never done so the Queen graciously gives her a day to decide if she will accept or not.

Remember the rude man I mentioned before. Well, it turns out that he is none other than Prince Alexander. He is so gorgeous but very closed off. Alexander sees Kaylie as trouble because she is somehow associated with the media, which he hates. So, he will do whatever he can to make sure that Kaylie doesn’t want to accept the job.

The Queen is very clear in her wishes for Alexander to show Kaylie the castle and tell her about the family’s Christmas traditions. Alexander can’t say no to his mother because she can be very persuasive. You don’t want to say no to the Queen.

Alexander and Kaylie are forced to work/spend time together and it is so fun to read. They are from different worlds but they both share their opinion on Christmas. It is overrated. But they share the feeling of the loss of a loved one. Alexander lost his wife and he has been lost for those 2 years without her. Kaylie lost her grandmother and they were very close and since has thrown herself into her work life. This time together proves to be both healing and hopeful.

I loved getting to know these characters in the story. It brought me so much joy to read about the entire cast including the supporting characters. Alexander and Kaylie’s spark is hard to miss. As they open up with one another, their walls start to come down. The vulnerability that follows made my heart burst with emotion. Although this book does focus on the relationship between Alexander and Kaylie, I think Princess Anna, Queen Isabella, and Blixen (the family dog) steal the show. Princess Anna is so adorable and you can’t help but say ‘aww’ every time this little human shares a piece of wisdom or says the best thing with perfect timing. Queen Isabella is so wise and can read people really well. She makes things happen and is so genuine. Blixen is a cute pup any family would love to have. Yes, he can be rowdy but it’s part of his charm. I didn’t want this story to end and I know readers will love this book!

Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

I give A Royal Christmas Fairy Tale 5 stars. This is a must-read for romance readers and fans of A Christmas Prince and anyone who enjoys royal romance. Karen Schaler gives readers a magical romance and a winter wonderland setting. Trust me, it will leave you wanting to take out all of your Christmas decorations. This is a fairy tale romance that you will swoon over for days.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.