Blog Tour · Book Review

Blog Tour & Book Review: Twin Daggers by MarcyKate Connolly

Thank you to TLC Book Tours for the gifted copy.
Title: Twin Daggers
Author: MarcyKate Connolly
Release Date: August 25th, 2020
Publisher: Blink
Synopsis:

Aissa’s life is a web of carefully constructed lies. She and her twin sister, Zandria, are Magi spies, magic users most believe to be extinct. And they’re on a mission for revenge.

This action & adventure spy thriller–a fantasy spin on Romeo and Juliet from New York Times bestselling author MarcyKate Connolly–is perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer and Elly Blake and is about to become your new obsession!

By day, Aissa and Zandria play the role of normal young Technocrats eager to fulfill the duties of their new apprenticeships. By night, they plot their revenge to retake their city from the Technocrats. But then Aissa is given a new mission: find the heir to the Technocrat throne, who is rumored to be one of the Heartless, and kidnap her. Born without a working heart, the Heartless survive with a mechanical replacement.

Aissa is more likely to be caught than to be successful, but she’s never been one to turn down an assignment, even if the hunt is complicated by a kind Technocrat researcher who is determined to find a cure for the Heartless. But when Zandria is captured by the Technocrats, Aissa will do anything to get her sister back. Even if it means abandoning all other loyalties–and missions–and deciding whether or not it’s worth risking everything on getting help from her sworn enemies.

My Review:

Twin Daggers is an interesting fantasy read that is a somewhat of a Romeo and Juliet retelling. Author MarcyKate Connolly gives readers a set of magical twins that have to keep part of their life secret. This book will transport readers to a magical world full of lies, spies, and magi.

Aissa and Zandria are spunky characters. I really enjoyed their relationship as twins and as spies. They like to get their jobs done, but there are a few obstacles in their way this time. As they are getting closer to Technocrats and trying to seek revenge, readers will see the pressure they are under and how one mistake can change everything.

Rating: 🌟🌟🌟

I give Twin Daggers 3.5 stars. It is an adventurous and interesting fantasy read. I liked the authors writing style as it was easy to read. I wanted a little more backstory but this didn’t prevent me from liking the book. Overall, it was a cool fantasy/retelling that YA readers will enjoy.

Purchase Links

Amazon | Books-A-Million | Barnes & Noble

Connect with MarcyKate

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

MarcyKate Connolly’s TLC Book Tours TOUR STOPS:

Monday, August 24th: @theshybooks

Tuesday, August 25th: Moonlight Rendezvous and @moonlight_rendezvous

Wednesday, August 26th: Hallie Reads and @h.szott

Thursday, August 27th: Storied Adventures and @storied.adventures

Friday, August 28th: @fearyourex

Monday, August 31st: @hooked.by.books

Wednesday, September 2nd: YA It’s Lit and @ya.its.lit

Wednesday, September 2nd: @thereadingroom444

Thursday, September 3rd: @amanda.the.bookish

Monday, September 7th: Living My Best Book Life and @livingmybestbooklife

Wednesday, September 9th: @a_bookish_dream

Thursday, September 10th: @ifcatscouldread

Monday, September 14th: @the.magicalpages

Wednesday, September 16th: @bookswithmeg

3 thoughts on “Blog Tour & Book Review: Twin Daggers by MarcyKate Connolly

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.